Tél : +32 (0) 476 63 15 98    contact@mianielsen.com    Limelette,  Belgique    2018 Created by MKN

French, English, Spanish, Danish

and burnout...

There is burnout...

Burnout flower.jpeg

There have probably never been as many television programs, press articles, surveys and books on burnout as there are now.

And yet, there is still a great deal of misunderstanding and (of) confusion around this topic.

Can someone suffer from a burnout without being depressed?

Can a burnout, bore-out, brown-out and others be considered as "diseases"?

What type of medical and psychological treatments are required during a sick leave?

What can be done to anticipate this “earthquake”, and how can we prevent a possible relapse once back in the workforce?

Why does the work stoppage sometimes last several years for some people, while others seem to be up and running after a few months?

“Rest, rest and only rest” is always mentioned as the best treatment, is that true for everyone?

What can we do (and especially not do) as a close relative (family member/friend) to help a person suffering from a burnout in the best way?

Can only rest promote healing?

A burnout must be approached in a completely personalized way. Although there are many common symptoms among "burnies" (irritability, isolation, intense fatigue, etc...), the way to approach it must be addressed on a case-by-case basis. It will be essential to identify the mechanisms that led the person to collapse in a sometimes brutal way.

 

And even if there may be people who are more likely to suffer from it in the course of their lives, it would be harmful to simply stigmatize them as "prone" to burnouts. The burnout was gradually able to "brew" in a very specific context, with a certain trigger moment and not necessarily reproducible.

 

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), depression and anxiety disorders (including stress-related disorders) will be the leading global health problems by 2020, competing with cardiovascular disease. This means that it will be crucial to have the support of a professional (whether coach or therapist) trained in this type of situation, with the increasing number of people exposed to burnout (among others).

 

It is key to receive help:

1. When the first alarm signals are felt, so as to better assess where one stands on the fatigue/exhaustion scale and avoid reaching the point of no return.

2. During the burnout. Some will say that you cannot start coaching or therapy in burnout due to a lack of sufficient energy. I would say that this will depend entirely on the professional solicited, his or her more or less in-depth knowledge of burnout (or bore-out, brown-out, blur-out) and the way the in which he or she will try to get the patient back on track.

3. Before going back to work to be optimally prepared and avoid being crushed under society’s steamroller.  

4. After returning to work, to take a look at the evolution of things and make sure that the absence of symptoms is maintained over time.

To that end, during the first consultation, I assess where the person stands in this exhaustion process so as to determine what kind of support they will need in priority. A burnout can be a very long process. However, the length of the recovery period can sometimes be significantly extended due to a lack of tailor-made and adequate support for the person suffering.

I invite you to contact me for an appointment.

Tél : +32 (0) 476 63 15 98    contact@mianielsen.com    Limelette,  Belgique    2018 Created by MKN

Français, Anglais, Espagnol, Danois

et burnout...

Il y a burnout...

Burnout flower.jpeg

Il n'y a probablement jamais eu autant d'émissions, d'articles de presse, de sondages et de livres parus sur le burnout qu'actuellement.

Et pourtant, il règne encore énormément d'incompréhension et de confusion autour de ce sujet.

 

Peut-on être en burnout sans être en dépression ?

Peut-on parler de "maladie" ?

Quel type de suivi faut-il avoir durant l'arrêt maladie ?

Que peut-on faire pour anticiper ce séisme, et comment prévenir une rechute possible une fois de retour dans la vie active ?

Pourquoi l'arrêt de travail dure parfois plusieurs années chez certains, alors que d'autres semblent être sur pied après quelques mois ?

Que peut-on faire (et surtout ne pas faire) en tant que personne proche pour aider au mieux ?

Seul le repos peut-il favoriser la guérison ?

Le burnout doit être approché de façon entièrement personnalisée. Bien que l'on retrouve beaucoup de symptômes communs chez les "burnies" (irritabilité, isolement, fatigue intense, etc.) , la façon de l'approcher doit impérativement être abordée au cas par cas. Il sera essentiel d'identifier les mécanismes qui ont amené la personne à s'écrouler de façon parfois brutale.

Et même s'il peut exister des personnalités plus enclines à en souffrir dans le courant de sa vie, il serait dangereux de stigmatiser la personne comme étant "sujette" à des burnouts. Le burnout a pu progressivement se "préparer" dans un contexte bien précis, avec un certain événement déclencheur et pas nécessairement reproductible. 

Selon l’Organisation Mondiale de la santé (OMS), la dépression et les troubles anxieux (incluant les troubles liés au stress) seront les principaux problèmes de santé à l'échelle mondiale d'ici 2020, rivalisant avec les maladies cardiovasculaires. Cela signifie qu'il sera essentiel d'avoir recours à une prise en charge par un professionnel (que ce soit coach ou thérapeute) formé à ce type de situation, avec la visibilité croissante du nombre de personnes exposées au burnout (entre autres).

Il est impératif de recevoir de l'aide :

1. Lorsque les premiers signaux d'alarmes se font ressentir afin d'évaluer au mieux où l'on se situe dans le tableau d'épuisement et éviter le point de non-retour.

2. Pendant le burnout. Certains diront qu'on ne peut être proprement suivi en burnout faute d'énergie suffisante. Je dirais que cela dépendra entièrement du professionnel sollicité, de sa connaissance plus ou moins approfondie en matière de burnout (ou bore-out, brown-out, blur-out) et de la manière avec laquelle il va tenter de remettre le patient "sur les rails".

3. Avant la reprise afin de s'y préparer de façon optimale et éviter que l'on soit pris dans le rouleau compresseur sociétal

4. Après la reprise afin d'observer le déroulement des événements post-reprise et s'assurer que l'absence de symptômes se maintient dans le temps.

C'est dans ce sens que j'évalue à la première séance

a) où se situe la personne dans ce processus d'épuisement, pour que l'on puisse

b) déterminer au mieux de quel type de soutien elle aura besoin en priorité. Car un burnout peut durer très longtemps - mais le temps de guérison peut parfois aussi être significativement prolongé faute d'un accompagnement sur-mesure et adéquat pour la personne en souffrance.

Je vous invite à me contacter pour une prise de rendez-vous.